Skip to main content

Relevant, entertaining, funny!

«A great movie to get to know different family models and to reflect upon one's own distributions of roles.»

Markus Tschannen, Dad Blogger

«Well done and authentic: family also works in a different way.»

Dr. Philippe Gnaegi, Director of Pro Familia Schweiz

«I can really recommend this movie»

Manuela from Ah, Wir Eltern

1'706 people have been in the cinema before the shutdown; Thank You!

We thank all who dared to go to the movies before the closing of the cinemas and thereby received a useful object lessons in regards to compatibility of family and work, as well as equal division of housekeeping and childcare. Unfortunately we cannot provide the lessons via homeschooling. However, we plan to take up the movie again by means of special screenings in the cinemas after the corona crisis.

If you have enough time to already organize something for the time after, you may call us at +41 79 222 78 45 or write us an e-mail!

 

Who does what, when, how and why?

We are anxious. Children, often the crowning moment of a happy partnership, turn the former life upside down. While before emancipation at work and in the partnership was taken for granted, this all of a sudden becomes shaky. Indeed, men want to take on more responsibilities in the family, but nevertheless a backlash to traditional distribution of roles can be observed – only one of ten men works part-time. Women demand more engagement of their partners in family affairs; however, they don’t raise their workload either – only one in ten contributes at least half of a family’s income.

 

Mothers and fathers often perceive this dilemma as an individual conflict, as a personal failure to meet one’s own and the expectations of the partner. But is this because of societal structures, or has the rethinking to start on an individual level?

In public, the urgency of the issue is manifested i.e. by the launch of the referendum for a legally consolidated paternity leave, the theme of the national women’s strike in 2019, or neologisms like «toxic masculinity».

 

Overview in numbers

  • When a child is born, the father receives 1 day of paternity leave, the mother 14 weeks.
  • 80% of Swiss people live in a traditional family model: the man is primarily responsible for the family income, the woman for the family work.
  • One of ten men works part-time. 80% of women work, but most of them less than 50%. Only 10% of women contribute to the family income at least as much as the man.
  • Women invest three times as much time in children and housekeeping as men do. It is almost exclusively them that do laundry, stay at home when the children are sick and get up in the night to calm them down -regardless of how much they work.
  • Only 15% of couples have a collaborative division of childcare and chores, as well as an equal share of paid work. 

Help with your Voice! Like, Share, Organize, Open Doors, Pass the Word!

Help to advance equal rights and emancipation in order to change the archaic role models of mother and father!

>Show solidarity and support an important cause with your voice!

 

 

Synposis of «Disordered»

Do we accept archaic distributions of roles, or do we live in self-determined family models?

What happens when men do more family work than mothers? An in-depth look into families, where the traditional roles have been switched. The experiences of the director are incorporated by means of short, parodic animations. In a humorous manner, the daily routines of parents and the old-fashioned distribution of roles are poked fun at.

«You can be everything that you want! – I grew up in light of this awareness.» The first generation of girls who had the same opportunities as the boys now experience the first years of their professional career. But the phase of unlimited possibilities ends for many young women and men with the birth of their first child. Abruptly, the old role patterns return. In Switzerland, 80% live in a traditional family model: the man is responsible for the money, the woman for the family.

But what about families that consciously opted for a more progressive family model, where fathers are more involved in child work than the mothers? Do the traditional role patterns change? The movie «Disordered» accompanies three couples in their everyday life.

The question is: do we accept archaic distributions of roles, or do we question them and test self-determined family models?

 

Director: Verena Endtner

Verena Endtner has studied directing at movie schools in London and Vancouver. Along her own projects, she works as a movie editor and camerawoman. She's the mother of an 8-year-old son.

 

More documentaries and articles about the Swiss director Verena Endtner: «Glückspilze - von der Strasse in die Manege», Worldpremiere: Visions du Réel. Amnesty International Award, Giffoni Filmfestival. International Filmfestival IFF São Paulo.
«Die Frau mit den Bluthunden», currently running on SRF 1, SRF info and 3 Sat.
«Von der Rolle».

>Wikipedia Entry of Verena Endtner

Approved Without Age Restriction

The Swiss Comiitte for Youth Protection has approved the movie "Disordered" without age restriction. Thereby, the movie with JIF rating 0 is also suited for classess at an an elementary level. For school sreenings, teachers can contact us here.

 

 

#vonderrolle

Do you want to joint the discussion about the distribution of roles between man and woman with children? Do you want to share your experiences, like the couples in the movie?

Post on Facebook at dokuvonderrolle or use the hashtag #vonderrolle.

>Here the first posts

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

«Ich glaube, wenn Väter wüssten, was sie alles bei ihren Kindern verpasst haben, würden sie zusammenbrechen. Es funktioniert nur, weil sie es nicht realisieren».

Bänz Friedli, Hausmann der Nation

Wer macht was, wann, wie und warum?

Wir sind verunsichert. Kinder, oft die Krönung einer glücklichen Partnerschaft, stellen das bisherige Leben auf den Kopf. War zuvor Gleichberechtigung im Job und in der Partnerschaft eine Selbstverständlichkeit, gerät diese plötzlich ins Wanken. Männer möchten sich zwar mehr in der Familie engagieren, aber faktisch kann ein Backlash zur traditionellen Rollenverteilung ausgemacht werden - gerade einer von zehn arbeitet Teilzeit.  Frauen fordern von ihren Partnern zwar mehr Engagement in der Familie, aber ihr Erwerbspensum stocken sie nicht auf – nur eine von zehn trägt mindestens die Hälfte zum Familieneinkommen bei.

Dieses Dilemma wird von Müttern und Vätern meist als individueller Konflikt wahrgenommen, als persönliches Versagen, den eigenen Erwartungen und denen des Partners entsprechen zu können. Liegt es an den Strukturen, oder muss das Umdenken bei uns selbst stattfinden?

In der Öffentlichkeit manifestiert sich die Dringlichkeit der Thematik z.B. in der Lancierung der Volksinitiative für einen gesetzlich verankerten Vaterschaftsurlaub, den Themen des nationalen Frauenstreiks 2019 oder neuen Wortschöpfungen wie «toxische Männlichkeit».

Übersicht in Zahlen

  • Bei der Geburt eines Kindes hat der Vater 1 Tag Vaterschaftsurlaub, die Mutter 14 Wochen.
  • 80% der Schweizer leben in einem traditionellen Familienmodell: der Mann ist hauptverantwortlich für das Familieneinkommen, die Frau für die Familienarbeit.
  • Einer von zehn Männern arbeitet Teilzeit. 80% der Frauen arbeiten zwar, aber 90% davon weniger als 50%. Nur 10% tragen mindestens gleichviel zum Familieneinkommen bei wie der Mann.
  • Frauen investieren dreimal mehr Zeit für Kinder und Haushalt als Männer. Fast ausschliesslich machen sie die Wäsche, bleiben zu Hause, wenn die Kinder krank sind und stehen in der Nacht auf, um die Kinder zu beruhigen. Unabhängig davon, wieviel sie arbeiten.
  • Nur gerade bei 15% der Paare besteht eine partnerschaftliche Aufteilung von Kinderbetreuung und Hausarbeit, sowie eine gleichwertige Einbindung in die Erwerbsarbeit.

Synopsis «Von der Rolle»

Akzeptieren wir verkrustete Rollenbilder oder leben selbstbestimmte Familienmodelle?

Was passiert, wenn Väter mehr Familienarbeit leisten als Mütter? Ein Einblick in Familien, in denen die klassischen Rollen vertauscht wurden. Die Erfahrungen der Regisseurin mit Kindern fliessen in Form kurzer, parodierender Animationen ein. In humorvoller Weise werden Elternalltag und verkrustete Rollenbilder aufs Korn genommen.

„Du kannst alles werden, was du willst!“ – mit diesem Bewusstsein wuchs ich auf.“ Die erste Generation Mädchen, denen alle Möglichkeiten genauso selbstverständlich offenstanden wie den Jungs, erleben nun die ersten Jahre ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn. Doch die Phase der unbeschränkten Möglichkeiten endet für viele junge Frauen und Männer mit der Geburt des ersten Kindes. Unvermittelt kehren die alten Rollenmuster zurück. In der Schweiz leben 80% in einem traditionellen Familienmodell: der Mann sorgt fürs Einkommen, die Frau für die Familie.

Doch wie steht es um Familien, die sich bewusst für ein progressiveres Familienmodell entschieden haben, wo sich Väter stärker in der Betreuungsarbeit engagieren als Mütter?  Ändern sich da die traditionellen Rollenmuster? Der Film «Von der Rolle» begleitet drei Paare in ihrem Alltag.

Die Frage ist: akzeptieren wir verkrustete Rollenbilder oder hinterfragen wir sie und testen selbstbestimmte Familienmodelle?

Regie: Verena Endtner

Verena Endtner hat an Filmschulen in London und Vancouver Regie studiert. Nebst den eigenen Projekten arbeitet sie als Filmeditorin und Kamerafrau. Sie ist Mutter eines 8 jährigen Sohnes.

Weitere Dokumentarfilme und Artikel über die Schweizer Regisseurin Verena Endtner:
«Glückspilze - von der Strasse in die Manege», Weltpremiere: Visions du Réel. Amnesty International Award, Giffoni Filmfestival. International Filmfestival IFF São Paulo.
«Von der Rolle», ab Herbst 2019 in den Kinos.
«Die Frau mit den Bluthunden», auf SRF1, SRF info und 3 Sat aktuell am laufen.

>Wikipedia Eintrag von Verena Endtner.
 

#vonderrolle

Sie möchten über die Rollenverteilung zwischen Mann und Frau mit Kindern mitdiskutieren? Sie wollen Ihre Erfahrungen mit anderen Teilen, so wie die Paare im Film?

Posten Sie auf Facebook unter @dokuvonderrolle oder benutzen Sie den Hashtag #vonderrolle.

>Hier die ersten Einträge